Glutton for Gluten?

You may recall that I blogged about watching Dr. Oz’s ” Leaky Gut ” T.V. episode recently. And you may even remember me having mentioned that when it comes to my diet, I am at a crossroads of confusion. To date, I have yet to determine the right course to take.

I find myself trying to figure out some sort of fusion between a gluten-free and anti-inflammatory diet. I mean, is there such a thing? I have no serological evidence to suggest that I am intolerant to gluten, yet I see that some of my fellow Sjoggies and Autoimmune Friends follow a Gluten-free diet and claim to feel better. I admit that I think it is worth a go to try to find out. I mean what have I got to lose at this point? Maybe a few aches and pains if I am lucky. And what’s a little withdrawal from foods that I crave in the quest for better health.

Yet, every time I think about trying to start (and totally commit in a non-cheating way)Ā to any regimented food plan, I find myself in some sort of action paralysis. Do any of you feel that way or is it just me? I don’t know whether it is the learning curve I am reluctant to deal with. Or whether I am listening to that little voice in my gluten-filled head that keeps telling me there is no way that I can give up every gluten-containing food (and more importantly…dessert) that I have spent my life eating, regardless of the inflammation hell that I live in.

But last night I may have received a sign that it is time. When attending our semi-annual Condo Homeowner’s Association Meeting, we were introduced to a new neighbor couple. When speaking to the gentleman and discussing the typical ” and what do you do” type questions…here it came. The couple owns a nearby market that sells all Gluten-free and Organic products. Further, he teaches about the Gluten-free diet and Celiac Disease at one of the local hospitals. It appeared to be a sign to me…just like the red, neon flashing signs we produce in our business.

He might have been a bit worried when he saw how my face lit up..especially when I said, “Oh, my goodness..what great timing”. ” Not only can you instruct me on how to adopt the Gluten-free life..you can also be a speaker for our new Sjogren’s Support Group”. Poor guy. He probably felt like every physician feels when they are accosted at out of work events, to answer people’s random medical questions. If so, he was very gracious of my genuine, gluten-free enthusiasm and did not appear to be sending out the ” rescue me “ look to his wife.

I have now arrived at the ” It’s time to quit talking about it and just do it ”Ā gluten-free starting point. I am working on making a serious attitude change from what I am giving up…to what I am gaining.Ā I will try hard not to focus on the proven fact that my willpower when it comes to sweets (either gluten-free or not) is totally absent. Of course it did not help to reinforce my very early gluten-free decision when the neighbor indicated that eating just one non-gluten-free cookie would stay in one’s system for 6 weeks. What a red-flag message that was to my usual diet-cheating self.

So here goes…we are taking the Gluten-free eating and education plunge for better or worse. Stay tuned for my Sjo-gluten-free updates.

Enjoy your weekend everybody!

SjoDry

 

About VitalSignsPgh

Sandy Burkett is the Creative Engineer, President and Owner of Vital Signs. Vital Signs is a certified Native American/Woman-Owned custom sign and graphics company located in Carnegie, PA.
This entry was posted in HUMOR, Random. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Glutton for Gluten?

  1. I will consider your blog topic today, my sign! I too have been thinking of a way to blend between the two diets. I have also Sat on the fence thinking I cannot give up the wheat bread and granola I love So much, not even thinking about the desserts I would miss :0( Yet, I am to the point where I feel like a walking pharmacy, all the meds I take should make me feel like Super Woman, yet I don’t! I want to be able to play with my kids without complete exhaustion followed by endless pain. Let me know how it goes, I downloaded a gluten free cookbook to my kindle- good luck!

    • vitalsignspgh says:

      You know what Mary? I said to my husband Steve this morning…if we were told that we had Cancer and maybe one year to live…we would be very loyal and committed to try whatever it took (diet or otherwise) to help ourselves.
      So why is it..that we can’t muster that same courage with the chronic illness we live with? If something has the capacity to possibly bring us great relief….we should try it. No more excuses..it’s time to do what I have
      in my control to help myself. Maybe you can join me!

      Take Care.
      SjoDry

  2. Lisa Hines says:

    Let me be a cheerleader for you! I so enjoy your blog and want to encourage you to go GF. We did 4 years ago and it was by far the best decision in our lives! I would highly enourage you to read the book called “Autoimmune: the Cause and the Cure” by Annesse Brockley. She explains what dietary changes to make for people with autoimmune issues and explains the science behind it. I started following it in January and already have seen a big difference, especially with my fatigue. Everything she writes makes such perfect sense to me. It’s the first time I have seen someone “connect all the dots” with all the issues we suffer.
    Thanks so much for sharing your story!

    • vitalsignspgh says:

      Oh I love it…a cheerleader…I need one! I will buy the book you mentioned.
      I love books that help things make sense to me. I am glad to hear that it helped you both (sounds like your hubby?)
      I am going to take it, one Gluten-free step at a time.

      Thanks for adding to my motivation!
      SjoDry

  3. Jan says:

    Best of luck…. I’m anxious to see how this works out for you. I too have been reading Sjoggie’s claims of this diet making them feel better, and at my dr appt this week, he brought up (again) checking for celiac disease. I, too, had ‘action paralysis’ when it comes to starting any kind of diet, which I really need to do…. but I’m tooooo tiiiiired!

    • vitalsignspgh says:

      Oh Jan…do I know this..doesn’t the fatigue just get in the way of everything!
      I am going to buy the book that Lisa recommends, AutoImmune, The Cause & The Cure.
      I will report (this will help me be accountable) šŸ˜€
      Have a great weekend.
      SjoDry

      • Jan says:

        Oh, yes it does!! I hate it! A friend and I had 2 days of ‘vaca’ and did some fun stuff… when I got home, I wound up spending the next 2 days in bed. So NOT ME in the ‘old days’. Oh, well, it’s taken me a very loooong time to finally accept my limitiations…. kicking and screaming all the way.
        Thanks, have a great weekend. Can’t wait to see how this works out for you.

  4. Amy Comperatore says:

    Gluten contributes to Leaky Gut Syndrome. 70% of the immune system is located in our gut. So…..listen to your gut. šŸ™‚ Get at least 30 g of fiber a day if ya can…..for us girls this will clean out yeast…..provided you don’t eat anymore yeast and sugar ( which is what yeast feed on). I admit it’s hard to give up garlic bread….I need to work on a gluten free recipe for that…..but I have found that most healthier alternatives taste better too. I joined our whole foods coop and have been amazed at the choice AND THEY TASTE GREAT ! Leaky gut syndrome can happen with a lot of autoimmune diseases, and if one crops up beware it has friends! Before you develop celiac disease or gluten sensitivity, give it a shot for a month. Dairy is my hardest one to give up…..I’ve been a cheesemonger since I was little. Cashew cheese isn’t bad….but it reminds me of the texture of peanut butter rather than actual cheese.

    Remember, inflammation will prevent you from losing weight……if gluten-free makes you LESS inflamed…..you might be carrying less weight too, after a while. šŸ˜‰

    • vitalsignspgh says:

      Thanks Amy.

      I wasn’t really sure whether the gluten-free route was working for me until lately. On two occasions, I ate with wild abandon and paid no attention to gluten-filled anything. Boy, did I pay a dear price.
      Seriously…those miniature cupcakes were not worth it. :-/

      SjoDry

Leave a comment