You’re Getting Sleepy(er)

Another Sjogren’s Treatment?

Question mark c

Happy spring Sjoggie-mates. While the seasons change, our poor state of chronic health issues pretty much stay the same (or so it often seems). Just like you, I am always in ‘search for Sjogren’s cure’ mode. And also just like you, I’ve tried many of the treatments we hear about. 

Whether it is a new diet, medication, acupuncture, massage, etc., so far I have not happened onto the magic bullet that launches me into any kind of state that resembles recovery or remission. But it does not stop me from searching.

Self-Help

The words self-help pretty much personify who we are as advocates for our own health, especially with the illness of Sjogren’s Syndrome. However, the self-help I am referring to are the efforts that we can personally implement to help our own condition. We have heard or even read some of the self-help books that are out there that give us guidance on how to be the best we can be; find the perfect diet; mend relationships and the like, but do these types of efforts work when we are looking for a physical solution to our chronic illness conditions?

The answer is yes, they can. Specifically, I have been focused and researching for awhile now, how our state of mind can affect our health either in the negative or in the positive. I have become convinced that the strong message of “We are what we create or think we are“, is very accurate. If we are hyper-focused on how bad we feel and have an attitude that we will never get better, then we can be sure that; that will be our outcome. 

What About Hypnosis?

Self hypnosis C

 

I have started researching meditation and hypnosis. I found that there were 13 studies (and probably more) which looked at hypnotherapy for chronic pain and whether it worked? The chronic pain that patients presented with came from various organ/body systems. It was shown that hypnosis interventions consistently produce significant decreases in pain associated with a variety of chronic pain problems.

So what is hypnosis? Many of us probably immediately think of a hypnotist on stage who asks a group from an audience to come up on some type of stage, be hypnotized and then asked to do silly things which make the audience laugh. But there is a real, therapeutic side to hypnosis and it’s ability to heal/help people. 

The official definition of hypnosis is that it is a natural state of selected focused attention and reduced peripheral awareness & enhanced capacity to respond to suggestion. During hypnosis, a person is said to have heightened focus & concentration.

black and white swirly pic

 

The Great News

Just like all of you, it seems that every Sjogren’s intervention/treatment out there has a $$ price tag attached to it. We get tired of shelling out money for treatments that don’t help, don’t we?! Guess what? You can try hypnosis for FREE. Now this is one thing about the internet that we can appreciate! For the brief few moments it takes to do a search on YouTube.com, you will be presented with several hypnosis videos to try in the comfort of your home for free. I don’t know about you, but I love this!

Already, I have found hypnosis for chronic pain; depression; being more positive; losing weight; sleeping better, etc. Each night about an hour or so before I go to bed, I plan to listen to my hypnosis video of choice. I used to be so hyper that I did not think that there was any way I could possibly be hypnotized by anyone. Sjogren’s fatigue has changed that. Afterall, most of function in a semi-coma state most of the time, so we’re almost there already.

hypnosis in the brain

 

Does It Work?

I don’t know yet. I have only done it for 2 or 3 nights at this point. What I do know is that these hypnosis videos are very relaxing. I have my eye mask that I put on (you may remember my mask from my Rome trip blog post…the one that looks like a black bra from Victoria’s Secret). I turn out my bedroom light and proceed to focus on my breathing and  the hypnotic suggestions. I figure..what have I got to lose? (Hopefully a few pounds and some chronic pain at the very least). And friends…again…it’s FREE…we love free!! More importantly, there is study data supporting the use of hypnosis for many conditions.

It Never Hurts To Try

 

swinging pocketwatch

The way that I look at it and most things..is that it does not hurt to try and it may really help. I think I am pretty safe in saying that consistency will be the key here. There is no doubt in my mind that it will be necessary to maintain the hypnosis practice on a regular basis to see and maintain benefit. I’m okay with that. I think that we can try the free Youtube options available to us and if it begins to help, we can always go to a bonafide hypnotist in our local area who can personalize the hypnosis to our individual needs. Did I mention it is FREE!!

My fellow Sjoggie-mates, I am greatly encouraged that there are so many studies being done about Sjogren’s, big pharma is starting to figure out we Sjoggies are a goldmine opportunity. These things, however will take awhile to come to fruition. So in the interest of Sjoggie self-help, we have nothing to lose. If you decide to join SjoDry in any hypnosis efforts, please reach out and share your experiences with me/us. I would love to know what is working for you. If you identify a particularly helpful hypnotist online/youtube (I like Michael Sealey so far), please share.

Until next time…

I’m Getting Sleepy…

 

 

About vitalsignspgh

Sandy Burkett is the Creative Engineer, President and Owner of Vital Signs. Vital Signs is a certified Native American/Woman-Owned custom sign and graphics company located in Carnegie, PA.
This entry was posted in And the research says..., Searching for Answers and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to You’re Getting Sleepy(er)

  1. Amy Junod says:

    Great post Sandy! I have to say that guided meditation has been very beneficial to me. There are specific meditations for sleep/pain relief/stress and basic wellness that I really feel take the edge off. It helps me step outside of my Sjogren’s symptoms and look at them with a different perspective.
    Bellruth Naperstack has guided meditations that I love and are a sort of self hypnosis set. It uses guided imagery. I found those at my local library and go back to those quite often.
    I am a big fan of the Calm.com app on my phone. They have plenty of content that is free. I’ve used it so consistently that I cancelled another subscription so that I could pay for their extra content. LOADS of good stuff on there as well as beautiful images/sounds. I like to play the field of flowers on my tablet when I’m having to lay low. I pretend that I’m laying in a field of wildflowers instead of stuck in bed!
    There is another app Called Chronic Pain Relief that I found really great as a Sjoggie. It is a self hypnotic type of meditation as well. The imagery it uses for pain relief is a special “healing fluid”. I just love that idea. You can hold it in your hands, bathe in it, pour it from a faucet when needed. I love that one because of the hydrating factor! That app is free as well and if you want further content you can purchase more.
    I hope you continue to find relief. It’s not a cure but it sure takes the edge off until one is found!

  2. Thanks so much! I love these suggestions and will definitely check them out.

Leave a Reply

