Blessings

Reflection

Praying Hands

There is a good reason (or a handful of them) why people say that religion and politics are topics to avoid in every day conversation. I think it’s a good rule of thumb to live by when few topics can ignite such heated exchanges in the way that politics and religion do. If you don’t believe me, just turn on the tv and listen to the day’s presidential candidates’s war of words.

So at the risk of upsetting someone, I am treading on a potentially volatile topic today. Like millions of other people, we just celebrated the holiday of Easter. Easter represents a foundational belief in the Christian Faith. That belief, is that through death, burial and resurrection, Jesus paid the penalty for sin, thus purchasing for all who believe in Him, eternal life in Christ Jesus.

To Each His Own

American and Marine Flags

Regardless of what you believe in your faith or which faith that may be, in America, you have the freedom to make that individual choice. I think that sometimes we often forget how critically important that fact is. Between the Easter Egg Hunts and Church services, did you happen to hear that there was an explosion in Lahore, Pakistan on Easter Sunday?

That explosion was 7 miles from where our son, an active duty Marine is stationed. As he and his fellow Marines stand ready behind the large walls of the U.S. Consulate in Lahore, I am painfully reminded of all of our service people’s daily sacrifices for all of our safety.

Ironically, while we were in our churches giving thanks, hundreds of people were bombed celebrating their Christian faith in Pakistan. I get that there is evil in the world. But it is almost beyond my comprehension to understand how this evil and hatred can lead others to kill people for their beliefs. As we enjoyed our families, our food and fellowship, scores of mothers, fathers and children were irrevocably changed in Pakistan…just because of a celebration of their Christian faith. Is is so sad and senseless. This barbaric act will continue to happen unfortunately. For the most part, it is easy for us to remain distanced and not spend a lot of time thinking about it..until it happens to (or close to) your family.

The Irony

Isn’t it ironic that these jihadists have chosen to kill themselves (and many others) in the name of their faith & for their allah..simply because of Christians and their personal Christian faith. I am thankful that I can worship in any way or faith that I choose to. I am thankful that the God I worship doesn’t want me to go prove my faith by killing others who do not share my beliefs.

SJ-Faithclosepins

The Freedom To Search For Answers

While this is not my typical Sjogren’s blog post, I hope it will serve as a reminder of the freedoms that we still enjoy. It is very easy and pretty much unavoidable for we Sjoggies to get caught up in our day-to-day functioning and our search for medical answers. It consumes a great deal of our life whether we like it or not. We’re tired and we don’t feel well…but we are alive. And we have the freedom to see doctors and seek treatments. And yes, Sjogren’s has altered my life in negative ways that may remain permanent, but it cannot ever shake my faith! Typically, I would not write about this topic, but I just found myself reflecting not only on my son’s safety, but our world’s safety and freedoms.I will apologize if I have offended anyone in writing about this particular topic.  But I am thankful that it is my freedom to do so.

SjoDry and Thankful

About vitalsignspgh

Sandy Burkett is the Creative Engineer, President and Owner of Vital Signs. Vital Signs is a certified Native American/Woman-Owned custom sign and graphics company located in Carnegie, PA.
This entry was posted in Random, Searching for Answers, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Blessings

  1. Joyce says:

    Sandy,

    I’m so sorry to hear that! I’m sure that was, and continues to be, very frightening for you and your husband,

    Joyce

  2. Cerelda says:

    Thank you for you Easter thoughts. I hope you son’s location, stays a safe one.

Leave a Reply

