Holiday Spirit vs. Holiday Energy

Do You Have It?

131104_HOL_OhTheHumanity.jpg.CROP.promovar-mediumlarge

 

It seems to happen every year, no matter what I declare the year before. That is.. this year I’m going to get everything done ahead of time so I can enjoy the holiday. Ever said that? The problem is that Sjogren’s and all of my other annoying afflictions have different ideas.

I remember when I used to look incredulously at early retail and residential Christmas decorations and advertising with head-turning judgement. I would say to myself (or whomever I might be talking with), “Geez, can’t people just enjoy the Blessings of Thanksgiving without fast-forwarding past it to Christmas?”

But a funny thing happened. Our kids moved away, I got older, sicker and ridiculously fatigued. Being the Christmas decoration freak that I am, the process ended up being a several day process. I realized that if I was ever to enjoy the season without total stress the entire time, I needed to get things done sooner (and when our daughter was home to help). It has now become a tradition to “get Christmas decorations done”, the day after Thanksgiving. And the truth of it is that I really enjoy our Mother-Daughter (and reluctant husband) tradition. As far as putting them up after Christmas, well…no one ever enjoys that. Maybe this year, I will finally downsize everything when I neatly organize and store them. Right (said with a “sure you will” tone of voice).

Deja Vu

sick and tired girl. jpeg

 

One thing I can always count on is that my immune-deficient body will supply me with at least a few respiratory events at any time, including the holidays. In the past few weeks, I have been dragging with my latest lung attack. And then it was suddenly last week. It’s like I popped out of my coma and realized that Christmas is less than two weeks away and I had not done any Christmas shopping.

I made it out to shop last Saturday with all of the holiday enthusiasm I could muster. But by the end of the day, I was shot with little to show except for a snarling attitude about parking, walking and back pain. When I got home and collapsed on the couch, I grabbed my Ipad to start my online Christmas shopping. This is pretty much where I have remained for several days. It has also become apparent that my shopping delay has resulted in paying an arm and a leg for shipping to get the gift to my house in time to go into another box..to pay another arm and a leg to get it to it’s final destination before Christmas. Yes, folks the cost of illness is more than retail.

Credit Card Fire

flamecardjpg

 

After 3 separate trips to my purse to obtain my flaming credit card (having thought I was already done with it), I told Steve, “This Christmas shopping is wearing me out”. He laughed like I was joking. So body dysfunction aside, the other thing I can always count on, is my determination to find the exact perfect gift for each person which we buy for. The truth of the matter is that I really enjoy shopping for people. I truly derive great joy in giving to others. That never changes for me, no matter how I feel. For that, I am thankful.

Experience The Season

It is my sincere hope that this season fills you with the spirit of the season and the energy to enjoy it. We spend so much of the time in our lives feeling sick and being chronically ill, that I think it is easy for us to lose sight of some of the simple joys and blessings that we receive. For at least one day of this holiday season, I would urge you to take some quiet time to reflect on what is truly important and the many blessings in your life which have nothing to do with “things”.

 

Wishing you all a wonderful holiday surrounded by the people who mean the most to you.

Merry Christmas or Happy Holidays everyone.

SjoDry and Thankful

About vitalsignspgh

Sandy Burkett is the Creative Engineer, President and Owner of Vital Signs. Vital Signs is a certified Native American/Woman-Owned custom sign and graphics company located in Carnegie, PA.
This entry was posted in HUMOR, Random, Support, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Holiday Spirit vs. Holiday Energy

  1. Kyleen says:

    body{font-family: Geneva,Arial,Helvetica,sans-serif;font-size:9pt;background-color: #ffffff;color: black;}

     I understand and appreciate your sharing your thoughts and love.  Kyleen. 

Leave a Reply

