Sung to the tune of…” Leaving On A Jetplane”…

Some people call it ” Slap Happy “…

I call it, my wacky sense of humor. I was blessed with a sense of humor that defies understanding. So why is it that these crazy ideas & moments pop into my head? I have no answers. As I sat here contemplating my upcoming trip on Thursday to attend the Sjogren’s Patient Conference in Chicago, I found myself humming the old Peter, Paul & Mary song, Leaving On A Jetplane “. But then a crazy thing happened..as they usually do in my head… I changed the words. Yes, I cracked myself up as I did so. And so…here goes:

All my bags are packed, I’m ready to fly

I’ve got the “green gum” to combat my dry–

Already I’m so pumped, that I could sigh…

All the Sjoggie Info, that I will learn

And even a few words

When it’s my turn..

I’m so excited

I’m about to fly

Chorus:

So miss me

And very soo–une

We’ll talk Autoimmune

Sjoggie Protocols & Treatments too…

This can only mean…

that it has been way too long since my last vacation! And, that I am excited to reconnect with a few of my Sjoggie friends and foundation members. Oh yeah…and maybe there’s a little bit more going on that just my brain fog. But hey, I am not going to knock my unique sense of creativity..at least it is still working!

Seriously, my fellow Sjoggies, attending a Sjogren’s Patient Conference feels like a comfortable home-week with your closest kindred spirits. We just skip the high fives because they hurt too bad.

Obviously, SjoDry has all of her Dry Products & Prescriptions Arsenal packed & ready to go.  For those of you who will be joining me in Chicago…please send me your comments about some of your conference favorites after you return. You don’t even have to put them to music!  See you soon!

SjoDry and Singing

About vitalsignspgh

Sandy Burkett is the Creative Engineer, President and Owner of Vital Signs. Vital Signs is a certified Native American/Woman-Owned custom sign and graphics company located in Carnegie, PA.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Sung to the tune of…” Leaving On A Jetplane”…

  1. Lisa Long says:

    Am looking forward to any new info you may bring back. Have a safe trip, hope Chicago is fun!

  2. A. Phillips says:

    LOVE, LOVE LOVE IT!!!!!

  3. Linda says:

    I heard you talk at the conference (my first one) and came home and searched for your blog! I was just diagnosed this year and unfortunately was not well at the conference so I don’t remember much. But thank you for sharing your story. I loved going to the conference.

    • vitalsignspgh says:

      Linda,

      Thanks so much. Last year was my first conference & I loved it also. It is so reinforcing to be in a room full of people who are all living the same journey.
      If you have any questions or just want to talk to someone, feel free to email me:sandy@vitalsignspgh.com

    • vitalsignspgh says:

      Hi Linda.

      So sorry for the delay in getting back to you. I have been doing battle with the onslaught of systemic manifestations that I am having. I appreciate your kind words with regard to my talk at the conference. I have a feeling that Steve was ready to drag me off of the stage (haha). I bet you just loved your first conference, I know I did last year in 2013 at my first conference. It is always so reinforcing to be surrounded by 400 people who share your journey & “get it”…no explanations necessary! I really enjoy being able to hear knowledgeable doctors who understand Sjogren’s. It has helped me to help educate some of my own docs who are not familiar with Sjogren’s. Plus, it is really nice to connect with other Sjoggies across the country.

      Thanks for reaching out!
      SjoDry

Leave a Reply

