And…….She’s Out!

And No, I didn’t even see it coming!  When one lives with the daily symptomology of Sjogren’s Syndrome, you become accustomed to dealing with whatever comes your way on any given day. It has been painfully obvious since the end of last February, that I had managed to snag some respiratory intruder which has defied my every cure attempt. Multiple Antibiotics and Steroid Treatments have given some small, albeit unlasting measures of relief. At the same time I have been having respiratory troubles..I have also been the recipient of some crazy heart palpatations.  I actually thought that I was hearing the base of some young teenager’s way too loud car radio passing by until I suddenly realized that it was actually my own chest that I was hearing. So to cut to the chase…I just spent 5 days in the hospital followed by several wipe-out days at home. I appreciated the fact that I had every cardiac test that could be run & ruled out any issues with my heart. What I found troubling, was that the docs were not on the same page as to what was and still is happening inside my chest. Of course, I am one of those complicated cases because I had 2/3 of my right lung removed at age 14. Add in some rapidly mounting immune problems and there you have it, a solid case of confusion and lack of clarity. And I have said this before, it is a huge red flag for me when doctors who are treating me cannot pronounce Sjogren’s. Two Pulmonologists from the same group who visited me at different times during my stay, both referred to Sjogren’s as (Sho- jurns). And since I am throwing out some of my frustrations here..let me mention the supreme (it actually goes beyond annoyance) emotion of opening up mail the day after I was released from the hospital from our Insurance provider which declares that my hospital stay request has been denied. What? The five days I just spent in the hospital have been denied. I guess Aetna did not think that I was as sick as the ER Doc who admitted me. The reality is that these are the kinds of things that we patients have to deal with all of the time. It’s not bad enough that we were the unlucky folk who had the misfortune to get an autoimmune disease, now we have to fight to justify it. Okay..I better slow myself down here..I feel a rant coming on and I really don’t have the energy for that right now. I just wanted to shoot out a quick post to let you all know that SjoDry has not abandoned her blog, she is just temporarily side-lined as she searches for the mediocre health she used to maintain.

Will update when I am feeling a bit better.

 

SjoDry

 

 

About vitalsignspgh

Sandy Burkett is the Creative Engineer, President and Owner of Vital Signs. Vital Signs is a certified Native American/Woman-Owned custom sign and graphics company located in Carnegie, PA.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to And…….She’s Out!

  1. J says:

    I hope that you feel better soon! Sorry that you have to deal with so many issues!

  2. Laura says:

    I’m sorry to hear about your recent health problems — and the stress of dealing with insurance problems isn’t helping, I’m sure. I hope you’re feeling better soon!

    • vitalsignspgh says:

      Thanks Laura. You would think after all these years, that I would be used to all of it. I’m not in denial…I just don’t think I want to be used to it. LOL

      SjoDry

    • vitalsignspgh says:

      Thanks Laura.

      I have a love-hate (mostly hate) relationship with Insurance. If my Powerball number would ever hit…I wouldn’t have to worry about insurance! Okay..I know…that is another one of my fantasies.

      SjoDry

  3. Lisa Welch says:

    I’m sorry you have been sick and definitely sorry you have to go through the doctor/insurance stuff but I have to say, it doesn’t surprise me…. been there!! Hang in there and feel better soon!

  4. Hi SjoDry, thank you for sharing your experience. I was diagnosed 2 years ago, and it has been quite a journey for me, both mentally en physically. As Lisa said so well, hand in there! Cheers. /J

    • vitalsignspgh says:

      Thanks Johanna.

      It is both therapeutic and fun for me to blog about living with Sjogren’s. I am always amazed to find that so many of us are living the same experience.

      Take Care.
      SjoDry

Leave a Reply

