Pain Severity and Neuropathic Pain Symptoms in Primary Sjogren’s Syndrome: A Comparison Study of seropositive and seronegative Sjogren’s Syndrome

Along with many other Sjoggies, I am seronegative. That is… my blood markers do not prove that I have Sjogren’s Syndrome in spite of what my body physically screams. I am always very interested in the differences between a Sjoggie who is seropositive vs. one who is seronegative. Are there any differences? Do we all get the entire spectrum of symptoms? Is my pain less than your pain or vice versa. I have often heard it said (or read) that a seronegative Sjoggie has a “milder” case of Sjogren’s with less involvement, than one who is seropositive. Hmmm. I am sure that there is a certain level of subjectivity involved. I mean after all, how can we accurately compare our pain levels when we each experience pain differently. My pain on a scale of 1-10 may feel a lot different than yours. Nevertheless, I was very interested when I came across a Pub-Med Study that looked at this topic.

Take a look at this report summary: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/23335582

The results surprised me. I had always assumed that what I had been told about people with seronegative Sjogren’s being milder was true. Apparently, it is not, or at least in this study it is not. At the end of the day, we are still left with whatever pain and symptoms we each experience. And the offered treatments for all of us are pretty universal.

What did you think? Did this study summary change your mind?

SjoDry

About vitalsignspgh

Sandy Burkett is the Creative Engineer, President and Owner of Vital Signs. Vital Signs is a certified Native American/Woman-Owned custom sign and graphics company located in Carnegie, PA.
This entry was posted in And the research says..., Scholarly Articles and Such, Seronegative, Symptoms and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Pain Severity and Neuropathic Pain Symptoms in Primary Sjogren’s Syndrome: A Comparison Study of seropositive and seronegative Sjogren’s Syndrome

  1. Karen says:

    Interesting. My doctor has never mentioned about a correlation between seronegativity and milder form of disease. And I’m quite sure I’m medicated as much as anyone who is seropositive! I’ve heard the implication that the nature of the testing isn’t great – yet. Unfortunately I think that the state of our understanding Sjogren’s (and other similar disorders) is pretty poor. Hopefully this will improve over time.

  2. Jan says:

    I also am seronegative….. never wanted to admit that, as it would give people another reason to doubt me. But this report was really a surprise – it validates how I really feel, even though those particular tests didn’t show anything. (However, the schirmer test, and my lip biopsy did.)

    • vitalsignspgh says:

      I know Jan. No matter how much I recognize that Seronegative folks are no less sick than seropositive…there’s just something about that validation of the blood marker that gives the condition credibility to those who doubt.

      SjoDry

Leave a Reply

