Cyberchondriac

Could This Be You?

I learned a new word in my cyber travels this week…Cyberchondriac. I have to admit that it cracked me up. A hypochondriac is a label that may have been whispered behind my back through the years..but perhaps that label should be changed. Am I indeed a cyberchondriac?

My idea of a cyberchondriac would be a person(s) who diagnoses themselves with either one or more illnesses that they have read about on the internet. Now it is true that I research everything to death on the internet (not just illnesses, treatments, and symptoms). But I think this is typical for people with autoimmune illnesses, don’t you? I mean between the difficulty of finding a good doctor and the challenges of receiving a diagnosis (or the right diagnosis/es) at all..we are forced to look for answers as to what is happening to our bodies. Of course we are all professional googlers. And why not! We are the only ones who can advocate for ourselves in securing the best care and treatment available to us. 

CYBERSEARCHER!

CYBERSEARCHER!

So maybe a better term would be: Cybersearcher! I will proudly own that label. Without being a cybersearcher, I would not have found the Sjogren’s Foundation or forums that help to educate me on the joys of living with Sjogren’s Syndrome.

So tell me…are you a proud cybersearcher?

SjoDry

About vitalsignspgh

Sandy Burkett is the Creative Engineer, President and Owner of Vital Signs. Vital Signs is a certified Native American/Woman-Owned custom sign and graphics company located in Carnegie, PA.
This entry was posted in HUMOR, Random, Searching for Answers and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Cyberchondriac

  1. Andrea says:

    Count me in! Proud of it too! Love the blog and glad to see you’re cracking jokes and blogging. Great poem and Happy Anniversary, by the way! Your other half sounds like a gem. I cought me a good one as well. I can hardly say he’s my other half…. He’s my other 90% (or more)! ~Andrea (Ripvanann)

  2. Amy Comperatore says:

    Proud to be a cybersearcher! I would not have been able to know what was going on with my body, if I never researched.

    I owe my life to research and learning. I know what to “put up a stink about” because I have spent time learning about Sjogren’s, autoimmune, and tests/testing.

    I would never have got CellCept, if I didn’t know to ask for a DMARD (Disease Modifying Anti Rheumatic Drug). CellCept helped me get better!

    Learn all you can, and advocate all you can.

    No one can advocate for your case any better than you.

    ~Amy. Erie, Pennsylvania

  3. Stephanie says:

    I love the term, but don’t like the “label” of cyberchondriac. And I think doctors turn prople into either cyberchondriacs or cybersearchers by not giving us enough information or decent explanations of what is happening. I have been “ill” for two years…still functioning, but “ill.” I have been trying to use food as my medicine and have been working with my endocrinologist on working some supplements into my regimen to hopefully get me able to exercise again. I have been slowly improving a little each week for about 4-6 months. I recently went to a rheumatologist only because my orthopedic surgeon wouldn’t treat a knee problem until I did because it would make a difference in how he treated it if I had an autoimmune disease. I really liked the rheumatologist, until I sat before him and he told me that since my tests were all negative and X-rays showed no bone erosion I don’t have any autoimmune disease. When I asked him what the dry eyes, mouth, joint pains, fatigue, diarrhea and cognitive issues of the last two years were about he said: “I don’t know” and prescribed a pain medication for my joint pain. And he will see me again in four months. I was not surprised, having had the same reaction from other doctors. I think most of the doctors I’ve seen are the least curious creatures on the planet! If he isn’t curious, I certainly am, and that’s why I’m a cybersearcher too! Since everything I’ve been doing I found on the internet, not from a doctor, and since what I’m doing seems to be working, that really reinforces me seeing doctors as little as possible and searching for information online. My endocrinologist doesn’t use very many tests at all. He says tests are to check to see what my levels are like when what we are doing is working and I’m feeling better. They tell us what MY “normal” is. Who cares if I fit into the artificial “normal” established by I don’t know who? If it walks like a duck and quacks like a duck, guess what? It’s probably a duck! I’m glad I discovered your blog!

    • vitalsignspgh says:

      Stephanie,
      Please accept my apologies for the delay in responding to your comment. I have your email address & would like to respond privately.

      Will be in touch.
      SjoDry

Leave a Reply

