Oil of Ole Lady

Yes..that’s the new name of the latest moisturizer I will be attacking my dry skin with.

I have finally resorted to making my own product after plowing head first into a wall of frustration. I never thought about myself being an active member of the 53 billion dollar cosmetics consumer industry..yet I have the cluttered bathroom counter and full storage cubbies to prove that I am.  In fact, I think it would be very interesting to see how much we Sjoggies spend on the ultimate search to conquer (or at least do battle with) our critically conditioned dry skin.

I feel like I am constantly searching for “the” product that is going to finally be the difference that I am looking for.  I look on forums; I ask friends; I watch photo-shopped women with beautiful skin on TV Commercials.  Of course, I routinely stand in the moisturizer isle hoping that all of my serious visual scanning & reading labels will finally lead to the big score.  Yet, it is like Groundhog’s Day all over again.  I make a choice, take it home & slather it on, make a mental note that the smell is not too bad only to realize that within moments, my skin is once again sporting my signature, scaly, leather look.

I feel like I should hear some kind of loud, slurping sound as of all of the moisture leaves my middle-aged skin after each slathering ritual (think straw and end of glass sound).  And the reality of this sad skin scenario is that it’s gross and unsightly, along with being very uncomfortable.  Yes, there are few things more frustrating than seeing one’s innocent skin being consistently robbed of it’s beloved moisture.

Of course for me..there’s the chicken and the egg question..which came first: The typical middle-aged skin drying or the Sjogren’s Skin Moisture-Sucking Monster? Or did they both do a planned attack at the same time?  I suppose it is what it is.  It is a permanent symptom and I am it’s host body.  It would probably not be so annoying if I had any faith that there is actually a currently invented product that is up to the formidable challenge of fighting the good fight.

With my skin condition in mind, I started entertaining thoughts of making my own moisturizer.  As I began to look around, I came upon what I hope will be a recipe for true hydration happiness.  It was a recipe generously shared on the Sjogren’s World Forum.  The recipe didn’t have a name, so I gave it one (Oil of Ole Lady).  But the true endorsement came when the Sjoggie who shared it said she is in her fifties, but is routinely mistaken for being in her thirties. Okay…that’s it…Done, I’m on my way to the store.

I don’t know how it will work..but at least it will smell better and maybe last longer than the Olive Oil I am currently using.  So wish me luck.  If my product yields the soft, lasting skin results I am after, I will share my Oil of Ole Lady recipe with all of you!

About vitalsignspgh

Sandy Burkett is the Creative Engineer, President and Owner of Vital Signs. Vital Signs is a certified Native American/Woman-Owned custom sign and graphics company located in Carnegie, PA.
This entry was posted in Symptoms. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Oil of Ole Lady

  1. cargillwitch says:

    I have been making my own skin care items for years now. I use organic coconut oil, almond oil and local organic beeswax melted together. The result depending on ratios results in mixtures that can act as your lip balm to face cream to soothing ointment( I make my own essential oils with sage, lavendar , calendula etc. that I grow)with additional herb assistance.I think most people would be embarrassed to realize how much money they have wasted for years on inferior products ! We are all victims of good marketing

    • vitalsignspgh says:

      Made my Oil of Ole Lady. I must say I used many of the same ingredients that you did & had a great result.
      I don’t want to think about how much money I wasted for products that have not worked as well as my own.

  2. Tamira Harrell says:

    I looked and looked on the forum, but I can’t find the recipe!

    • vitalsignspgh says:

      Hi Tamira.

      I have the recipe at home. I followed her recipe but added some additional stuff. I suppose the jury is still out on it & I have not been totally consistent in using it. The consistency is “goopy” for lack of a better word. When it recently warmed up, I noticed that the entire jar of moisturizer had liquified. I have it in the refrigerator re-solidifying. I will copy the recipe and add it in a blog post. I do like how it feels on my skin..and it is not too greasy. It soaks in very quickly on my leathery skin. Keep an eye out & I will add the recipe 😀

Leave a Reply

