My Holiday Escape

Childlike Excitement…

It’s happened once again, as it does every year for me. In spite of the “way too soon” onslaught of Christmas Marketing, I find myself caught up in the annual excitement of another Christmas. It started when I was a child & we made our annual trips downtown to enjoy the very elaborate and animated Christmas windows that all of the department stores displayed. And it continues to manifest itself in so many ways. It starts with two day process of decorating the whole house to reflect my love of Christmas. Of course, I have passed this Christmas enthusiasm onto my daughter, which may be considered by some (my husband) to be a borderline addiction to ornaments and decorations. Of course I love the re-discovery of our family’s Christmas decorations and ornaments. It’s not just the fun of placing our child’s kindergarten clothespin ornament on the tree, it’s more than that. It is the feelings, emotions and memories that evoke so many past shared family Christmas memories. I can’t forget our annual tradition of all family members putting on their designated Santa Hat before the annual present-opening begins. It always makes me smile to see who can last the longest until complaining about the flaming heat under their hat.  Most of all, I get excited about watching those that I love, enjoying Christmas.

Childlike Wonderment..  it happens every year

No matter how bad I feel or hurt, I can always count on Christmas to help me escape some of it. My childlike wonderment of the season’s sights and sounds always give me some temporary respite from my unwanted autoimmune presents. That my friends, is a blessing that I appreciate. For that period of time, no matter how long it lasts, I am able to step outside of my chronically ill self and enjoy others. I am able to escape  into the same Television Christmas outcomes of, “It’s A Wonderful Life”, and The Christmas Story and never be tired of them. Of course I am able to make the same annual rationalizations about all of the Christmas cookies and candy that I am inhaling. But most of all family ties trump my pain, other symptoms and nausea.

I hope that you were able to create & escape into a lovely holiday memory this year. Here’s to a HEALTHIER & Happy New Year in 2014.

May the moisture be with you!

Cheers!

SjoDry

 

About vitalsignspgh

Sandy Burkett is a Sjogren' Syndrome Patient; A Sjogren's Syndrome Foundation (Pittsburgh) Contact & Ambassador, and the Co-leader of the Pittsburgh Sjogren's Syndrome Support Group (aka Sjoggies in Pittsburgh SIP)
This entry was posted in HUMOR, Random, Support and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Holiday Escape

  1. Amy Junod says:

    Fun post. This year I had to cut back on some of our Christmas traditions. I too beam inside when I unwrap our boys’ old Christmas creations. Priceless stuff.
    I love your family’s hat decoration tradition. Sounds like good fun!
    Thanks for your post. It helped remind me that it really was a great holiday season.
    Amy

  2. J says:

    Great article! Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

